Digital Guyana

Manatees!

Posted on: July 22, 2009

The West Indian Manatee, is the largest surviving member of the Sirenia mammal order which also includes Dugongs and Sea Cows. They live in the West Indies, normally in shallow coastal areas, but sometimes in rivers and estuaries.

Manatees grow up to 3 metres in length and weigh between 400 and 600kg. Full grown ones eat up to 30kg of sea grasses and plants every day.

The West Indian Manatee is surprisingly agile in water, and individuals have been seen doing rolls, somersaults, and even swimming upside-down. Manatees are not territorial and do not have complex predator avoidance behavior, as they have evolved in areas without natural predators.

You might be wondering where I am going with all this?

Well, a couple of days ago we went to the manatee pond in Georgetown’s central park. We’d heard that people sometimes fed the manatees, so I threw some grass into the pond. Soon we had about 10 manatees eating out of our hands!

Here are some pictures:

Apparently, the ‘mermaid myth’ originally comes from ancient Greece, where sailors saw manatees and thought that they were beautiful women. This is something that keeps cropping up through history. Sailors get pretty desperate after months at sea, I guess.

Christopher Columbus seems to have had better sense. He mentioned that ‘mermaids’ had been sighted several times on his trip to the new world, but noted in his log that these mermaids were not quite as beautiful as the sailors had told him.

I guess he didn’t like bald, fat girls with wrinkly skin and large moustaches.

17 Responses to "Manatees!"

[…] more info read Pontus’s earlier post about the manatees. Tags: Georgetown, Manatees, national park, […]

Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it
helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped
me.

Have you heard of online radio broadcasts? Just wondering if
you have thought of starting your on-line show free of charge discussing these subjects as well.
I think they have free online accounts to sign up, kindly let
me know when you end up doing it!

This maybe a weird question. But is it ok if I ask which web hosting company you’re using? I’d like to know for the future to have quick loading speeds for my own blog
site as well, thanks a lot in advance!

Can you provide me the personal electronic mail address of the author of this article because I really want to see if
I may ask a question regarding this posting.

It’s actually very complex in this active life to listen news on TV, so
I simply use web for that purpose, and get the hottest news.

First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had
a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center
yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.
I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10
to 15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
Any ideas or tips? Appreciate it!

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know sso much about
this, like you wrote thhe book in it or something.
I think that you can do with a few pics to
drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this
is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

It’s awesome designed for me to have a web
page, which is useful for my experience. thanks admin

Hi there to all, the contents existing at this web site are
in fact awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

Attractive component to content. I just stumbled upon your
weblog and in accession capital to say that I get actually loved account your blog posts.
Anyway I’ll be subscribing in your feeds and even I achievement you get entry
to constantly quickly.

I enjoy, lead to I found just what I was looking for.
You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day.
Bye

I am actually delighted to glance at this webpage posts which includes tons of valuable information, thanks for providing these kinds of data.

First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question in which I’d
like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head
prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my
ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure
in writing however it just seems like the first
10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips?
Many thanks!

Right away I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming yet again to read more news.

Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.

It will always be useful to read through articles from other authors and use something from other web sites.

You can certainly see your expertise in the article you write.
The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid
to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

Leave a comment

Bringing web skills to Guyana

A volunteer project from CYEC (Commonwealth Youth Exchange Council)

Guyana on Flickr