Digital Guyana

Team intros – Pontus Westerberg

Posted on: July 16, 2009

Hi, My name’s Pontus and here’s my introduction.

pontus2

I first heard of this project through Twitter (where else) via @podnosh who retweeted an invitation by @timdavies for interested potential volunteers to get in touch. I love volunteering  overseas – I  have previously done it in Kenya and Zimbabwe – and thought this would be a great opportunity to share my skills, meet new people and experience a new culture.

I’m focusing on HTML and CSS skills and have developed an introductory HTML course which centres around creating an online CV. It will cover:

  • How to set up an HTML page in notepad
  • HTML elements and attributes
  • Links, images etc
  • Inline styles and some basic CSS selectors
  • FTP, domain names, hosting
  • External style sheets (depending on how far we get)

About me – I’m the Web Editor for Futurebuilders, the UK’s largest  social investor,  and have previously worked with online and offline communications for several charities. Last year I spent six months as a volunteer for Leonard Cheshire Disability East and North Africa in Nairobi, Kenya, designing its website and developing other  communications materials.

I’ve also helped with online communications for the Sanitary Pad Programme in Kenya, a campaign for Nelson Mandela’s 90th birthday for Action for Southern Africa and the Centre for Accessible Environments and do a lot of online volunteering through the UN Online Volunteering Scheme.

I normally blog over at Eatanicecream (although I’ve been very lazy lately).

2 Responses to "Team intros – Pontus Westerberg"

Hi,

If time allows, you might want to look at including the hResume microformat.

Good luck,

Thanks for the tip, not seen this before – looks interesting. We’ve had our hands full teaching basic HTML though!

Leave a Reply

